top of page
  • Philip Ammerman

Cyprus elects 6 new Members of European Parliament, makes history with first Turkish-Cypriot MEP

Updated: Sep 25, 2019

Cyprus MEP Europe NavInvest Cyprus
From left to right, the six newly-elected MEPS: Giorgos Georgiou, Niyazi Kızılyürek (AKEL), Costas Mavrides (DIKO), Demetris Papadakis (EDEK), Lefteris Christiforou,Loukas Fourlas (DISY) Photos:Christos Theodorides

With Loukas Fourlas leading the way for DISY with 43.156 votes, Cyprus elected and announced its 6 newly appointed representatives for the European Parliament.

The six new MEPs are Loukas Fourlas (DISY), Lefteris Christoforou (39,616 votes, DISY), Giorgo Georgiou (27,063 votes, AKEL), Niyazi Kızılyürek (25,051 votes, AKEL), Costas Mavrides (DIKO) and Demetris Papadakis (EDEK).

This is the first time in Cypriot history that a Turkish-Cypriot has been elected to the European Parliament since the country’s EU entry in 2004. Niyazi Kızılyürek ran for the communist-rooted AKEL party which placed second behind DISY, Cyprus’ conservative Democratic Rally party.

Overall the voting turnout was a mere 42.8% highlighting another low-turnout election which is even more evident during EU elections.

It is interesting to note that ELAM, Cyprus’ Eurosceptic and far-right party, was in a European election derby with socialist party EDEK with the latter overtaking the former with a 10.58% voting share.

ELAM still received a significant rise in votes from its 2014 percentage (2.59%) with its voting share ending at 8.25%.

If you are interested in investing in Cyprus please visit our Working with Us page.

Please feel free to contact us for a confidential assessment of your business needs in Cyprus.


bottom of page