top of page
  • Philip Ammerman

Victory for New Democracy centre-right party in Greek elections

Updated: Sep 25, 2019

Kyriakos Mitsotakis is Greece’s new Prime Minister following New Democracy’s outright majority with 158 seats in the 300-seat Parliament. New Democracy captured 39.8% with 158 seats, while Former Prime Minister Tsipras’ Syriza party won 31.5% and 86 seats.

In further detail, Kinima Allagis captured 8.1% and 22 seats, Communist Party of Greece (ΚΚΕ) captured 5.3% and 15 seats, Elliniki Lysi captured 3.7% and 10 seats while Varoufakis’ led MeRA 25 captured 3.4% and 9 seats.

Yesterday on Monday 8th, Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis also announced his 51-member Cabinet. Panagiotis Pikrammenos has been appointed the new Deputy Prime Minister, George Gerapetritis is the new State Minister, Stelios Petsas is the new Government Spokesman while Akis Skertsos has been appointed Minister to the Prime Minister.

The following is a full list of Greece’s new 51-member Cabinet:

Prime Minister

Kyriakos Mitsotakis

Deputy Prime Minister

Panagiotis Pikrammenos

State Minister

George Gerapetritis

Minister to the Prime Minister

Akis Skertsos

Government Spokesman

Stelios Petsas

Ministry of Finance

Minister: Christos Staikouras

Deputy: Apostolos Vesyropoulos

Deputy: Theodoros Skylakakis

Deputy: George Zavvos

Ministry of Development and Investments

Minister: Adonis Georgiadis

Deputy: Yiannis Tsakiris

Deputy: Christos Dimas

Deputy: Nikos Papathanassis

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Minister: Nikos Dendias

Alternate: Miltiadis Varvitsiotis

Deputy: Costas Frangoyiannis

Deputy: Antonis Diamataris

Ministry of Citizens’ Protection

Minister: Michalis Chrysochoidis

Alternate: Giorgos Koumoutsakos

Deputy: Lefteris Economou

Ministry of National Defense

Minister: Nikos Panagiotopoulos

Deputy: Alkiviadis Stefanis

Ministry of Education and Religious Affairs

Minister: Niki Kerameus

Deputy: Sofia Zacharaki

Deputy: Vassilis Digalakis

Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs

Minister: Yiannis Vroutsis

Deputy: Panagiotis Mitarakis

Deputy: Domna Michailidou

Ministry of Health

Minister: Vassilis Kikilias

Deputy: Vassilis Kontozamanis

Ministry of Environment and Energy

Minister: Costis Hatzidakis

Deputy: Gerasimos Thomas

Deputy: Dimitris Economou

Ministry of Culture and Sports

Minister: Lina Mendoni

Deputy: Lefteris Avgenakis

Ministry of Justice

Minister: Costas Tsiaras

Deputy: Dimitris Kranis

Ministry of Interior

Minister: Panagiotis Theodorikakos

Deputy: Theodoros Livanios

Deputy: Theodoros Karaoglou

Ministry of Digital Policy

Minister: Kyriakos Pierrakakis

Deputy: Georgios Georgantas

Deputy: Grigoris Zarifopoulos

Ministry of Infrastructure and Transport

Minister: Kostas A. Karamanlis

Deputy: Yiannis Kefaloyiannis

Ministry of Shipping and Island Policy

Minister: Yiannis Plakiotakis

Μinistry of Agricultural Development and Food

Minister: Makis Voridis

Deputy: Costas Skrekas

Deputy: Fotini Arabatzi

Ministry of Tourism

Minister: Haris Theocharis

Deputy: Manos Konsolas

The inauguration of Greece’s new government will take place today, Tuesday July 9th, at noon at the Presidential Palace. The first meeting of the new Cabinet will take place on Wednesday 10th of July at 11 am.

NavInvest Cyprus provides detailed analysis of economic, financial and business conditions in Cyprus via due diligence studies, business planning, financial analysis and modelling and merger & acquisition support. For further information on investments and entrepreneurship in Cyprus, please contact us.

Photo (c) Philenews Cyprus


bottom of page