top of page
  • Ilma Danielienė

United Kingdom, Russia and Greece added to Cyprus Red List

Updated: Apr 12, 2021

Following a decision of the Cyprus Council of Ministers, the United Kingdom, Russia and Greece were added to the Red List. This means that citizens of these countries can enter Cyprus with a negative PCR test taken within 72 hours of arrival, and a further negative PCR test upon arrival. This is the first time since early March 2020 that Russian travellers are allowed entry into Cyprus.

Nicosia, Cyprus: 5 April 2021

The changes on arrivals to Cyprus are important for incoming tourism in Cyprus. As we have written in Cyprus at the Crossroads:

“The Cyprus economy remains dominated by tourism. In 2019, tourist arrivals amounted to 3.98 mln and tourism revenue accounted for approximately 20% of GDP. In 2020, following the fear unleashed by the Pandemic as well as the lockdown measures, arrivals fell to just 16% of 2019 arrivals, or 0.63 mln. In 2021, we expect 40% of 2019 arrivals, or 1.59 mln arrivals in the best case scenario”.

The current categorisation of countries based on the epidemiological risk assessment is the following:

Green Countries: no COVID test certificate needed

  • Australia

  • New Zealand

  • Saudi Arabia

  • Singapore

  • South Korea

  • Thailand

Orange Countries: negative PCR certificate within 72 hours of arrival

  • China (including Hong Kong and Macau)

  • Denmark

  • Iceland

  • Israel

  • Portugal

Red Countries: negative PCR test prior to departure and second test upon arrival

  • Andorra

  • Armenia

  • Austria

  • Bahrain

  • Belarus

  • Belgium

  • Bulgaria

  • Croatia

  • Czech Republic

  • Egypt

  • Estonia

  • Finland

  • France

  • Georgia

  • Germany

  • Greece

  • Hungary

  • Ireland

  • Italy

  • Jordan

  • Latvia

  • Lebanon

  • Liechtenstein

  • Lithuania

  • Luxembourg

  • Malta

  • Monaco

  • Netherlands

  • Norway

  • Poland

  • Qatar

  • Romania

  • Russia

  • Rwanda

  • San Marino

  • Serbia

  • Slovakia

  • Slovenia

  • Spain

  • Sweden

  • Switzerland

  • Ukraine

  • United Arab Emirates

  • United Kingdom

  • United States of America

  • Vatican City

Passengers coming from Red Category countries shall be required to:

1. Provide a negative PCR test issued within 72 hours of arrival in Cyprus, and

2. Undergo a PCR laboratory test upon their arrival in the Republic of Cyprus.

For more information on the requirements when entering Cyprus, please follow this link.

Navigator Consulting provides Investment Advisory, Strategic Management and support for companies in Cyprus, Greece and internationally.

For further information, please contact:

Philip Ammerman

Managing Director


Ministry of Health. 5 April 2021

Related articles:

Navigator Consulting. 22 March 2021

Navigator Consulting. 29 January 2021

Navigator Consulting. 12 December 2020

Navigator Consulting. 17 November 2020

Navigator Consulting. 3 November 2020

Navigator Consulting. 14 September 2020

Navigator Consulting. 3 September 2020

Navigator Consulting. 21 July 2020


bottom of page